i-wont-complain-2

Does it sometimes seem like life hit you hard in prior years like a ton of bricks landed squarely in your chest? Is it just me or just when you think you’ve overcome one hurdle another giant one comes looming at your head? Is this the time you feel your knees buckle and cry out to the Lord “I just can’t take this anymore”? The good news is God knew the troubles would come before we did and if we really reflect on our lives we can say like the songwriter…all of my good days, out-weigh my bad days, I won’t complain.

Yes my friend, life has a way of knocking us to our knees. This is the ideal position to be in as when we fall there we look up and lift our voices and cries to the most High God.

It’s during these testing’s of our faith that we come to the full realization that in spite of it all, God has been good to us. He has been better to us than we’ve been to ourselves.

Let’s see, why do bad things continually happen in our lives? Hmmm, that’s an interesting question. Let me see if I can answer that for you.

Sometimes they come as a result of our bad decisions. Sometimes they come as a result of our procrastinating (which is still a bad decision). Sometimes bad things happen because we are under attack by the enemy. Sometimes bad things happen because we put our trust in people, rely on them to do what they say they’re going to do and for whatever reason they fail us.

I have unintentionally lied to people and made promises up the yang yang to others based on what others said they would do. I would never, ever deliberately  lie to someone. We had a verbal agreement, right? Wrong! It made me look like I was not a person of character and integrity. Is it the fault of the people that the bad things happened? Not at all. I simply put my trust in a position that is only held by God himself. (Psalm 118:8)

 

Sidenote: Last year when planning our 5th Meeting of the Minds Networking Event, I had people PLEDGE certain amounts of funds and backings in other ways. Gullible, naïve, I took it and ran with it. I made plans and did all kinds of stuff preparing for the event. I trusted the people and that was a huge, costly mistake. The people backed out and I was left owing  thousands of dollars, some of which, I still have not repaid as of yet. But I will!

I looked like a total and complete fool and lost respect among some and even lost some self-respect. LIFE LESSONS LEARNED THE HARD WAY! (You can read a lot more about this entire incident in my upcoming book whenever God releases me to release it. Believe you me, I have  made many costly mistakes)

Some bad things come as a means of teaching us valuable lessons we would not or could not have learned without the incident occurring (which could be a series of bad decisions).

Why do I say the latter? Sometimes we are so stubborn and hardheaded and have that mentality of doing things our way that God Himself cannot get through to us. It’s not like He doesn’t try or warn us. We just ignore the warning signs and keep doing things our way. We, or some of us, butt our heads up against the same wall over and over again until we get tired of the bruising’s and it’s only then that we gain the lesson. We pay the price the hard way when all we had to do was listen and obey.

If I knew then, what I know now: I would be slimmer, addiction free, financially savvy, debt free, healthier, wealthier, wiser, etc.. How many of us have said this?

In order to gain the wisdom that you have now, did any of you have to be like that Billy goat butting its head repeatedly against the same brick wall or were you wise enough to listen to Godly counsel? Just asking.

Case in point: I had known for a week or longer that I needed to get new tires, but I procrastinated. I went out to get into my car a few weeks back and guess what? I had a flat tire. Go figure! Now why in the world did that happen? Do I blame God? Was it the enemy or did I do that myself by ignoring the warning signs?

People, bad things do happen on a regular basis to good people, but many times we play a huge part in what’s happened. We have the innate ability to listen to the Holy Spirit and follow His leadings, if we only would. Accept responsibility, vow to do better, and move on. It’s imperative that we do.

For those things that happen that are totally beyond your control, seek and trust God to fix them. Do your part, whatever that part may be. Don’t ignore the warning signs and trust God to do the rest.

As for me, I won’t complain. Why? Because God has been too good to me for me to do so. Neither should you, because He has been so good to you too!

2017 can be the year of restoration. 2017 can be the year of reconciliation. 2017 can be the year that you jump. 2017 can be the year of turnaround. It can be, but we each have to be willing to draw a line in the sand and say enough is enough. It can be your time! The choice lies with each of us whether we want it to be or not.

Luke 22:31-32New International Version (NIV)

31 “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat. 32 But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

Happy New Year  from my family to yours!

