have-i-told-you-lately-that-i-love-you

Merry Christmas from my family to yours!

1 Corinthians 13:3-8English Standard Version (ESV)

If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned,[a] but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;[b] it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away.

May I change the title of this for a minute? It is ALWAYS the season for love!

As I go about each day, I see people in need of and searching for love. People need to know that there is someone who genuinely cares for them; not for what they can receive from the individual, but for the individual.

Many only remember to call or visit someone when there’s a need that the individual can fill. Don’t let that be you.

Some of our elderly that have given up much to train, nurture, provide for, and sacrificed so much for others, live a lonely life. I see those that have given their all be left totally and completely alone during their time of need. The need may be just a visit, or a phone call, or something that does not require anything tangible: The need is love.

The holidays can be the most devastating!

Life, this life that we live, can be amazing. On the other hand it can be devastating for some. I am not going to write a long article today. I just want to encourage you to look around you each and every day to find someone you can SHOW love to. Don’t look at the exterior, look and listen to your heart and follow it. Remember, one day it could be you.

I shared my experience and thoughts in a group the other day and it bears repeating. Last week, I found myself looking fairly decent on the outside, but underneath my pants I had leggings that had a run in them. No one could see the run as it was covered by the  pants and boots. The run, nevertheless, was still there. I knew it was there. Several commented how nice I looked. They just didn’t know what was under the surface. And so it is with people, don’t let the smile fool you. People are hurting and want and need love!

Look at the scripture above–if we have not love, we gain NOTHING! Look at what love is from a biblical perspective and ask yourself the question: Am I honestly focused daily on showing love to others or is my focus all about me, myself, and I? Be real. Examine yourself.

Don’t just say you love someone; put some action into it.

Remember, do unto others as you would have done unto you. Also remember, whatever we sow is what we will reap.

If you are looking for a gift to give that will last a lifetime and mean more than any tangible gift you could possibly give, give the gift of your time. We cannot reach everybody but we can reach or minister to somebody daily.

Love never fails!

 

 

 

 

 

