god-speaks

On yesterday, I was interviewed on a radio broadcast, “N I’ve Got Something to Say” by Dr. Netreia Carroll. The question was asked: How can one tell when God is speaking? I pondered that over and over last night and felt led to share my thoughts on the subject.

Before I go into how we know that God is speaking to us and it’s not we ourselves, Satan, or others that’s leading, guiding, directing, and ordering our steps, allow me to share with you a small portion of my experience.

Back in August 1999, while laid flat on my back after having surgery, I heard an inner voice say to me, “I am breaking you to build you up”. Lying flat on my back, home alone (or so I thought), I was puzzled. I kept saying or rather asking–“Who is this? What is this?” I would be lying if I didn’t say it scared the dickens out of me. However, the voice continued to speak some other things to me as well.

Being new to hearing from God, I blabbed to everyone what I constantly heard in my spirit. This set off a long chain of negatives for many years. Hurtful things were said about me. I was labeled as insane. People distanced themselves from me and I wondered why.

Prior to this Damascus road experience, I thought myself to be a good person.(I was not persecuting the church but call it that just to be clear) I looked the part: had a great job,  dressed well, attended church every Sunday and Wednesdays, taught Sunday School classes, Vacation Bible School, served on this board and that one, went out with the church ministering to those in nursing homes, and sang in the choir.

Prior to my “experience” or encounter with hearing from God, I looked in the natural like I had it together. I was a giver and still am today. I love to give. Imagine my surprise when God said to ME that He was breaking me to build me up. I didn’t need breaking, or so I thought. My life was a total mess. If you haven’t read my book: To God be the Glory: From Brokenness to Wholeness, I encourage you to get it. You may just see yourself in the writings. Many have.

So how do I know when God is speaking and it’s not the enemy? Honestly, a part of my breaking period, God allowed Satan to speak to me. It took me a while to recognize when God was speaking and when it was the enemy. Satan disguises himself so well. God’s sheep learn to hear His voice and know Him and follow Him. (John 10:27)

In order to know that it is God that’s speaking we must:

  1. Establish and maintain a relationship with Him through reading and studying His word. The bible is full of what God’s will for our lives is.
  2. After doing that on a daily basis, we must get still and listen to hear what He is speaking to us. Shut off the TV or any other distractions and listen.
  3. We must ask God what it is He wants us to do. The bible says we have not because we ask not.
  4. We must expect Him to lead, guide, direct and order our steps.
  5. I cannot emphasize this enough: Listening is key. We must be willing to listen and obey.
  6. God’s spoken word does not contradict His written word.
  7. God will often confirm His word through people. Get Godly counsel. Surround yourself with Godly people.
  8. We must be willing to get alone and be alone in order to get our guidance from Him in whatever situation we are facing.
  9. We must understand that sometimes what God leads us to do has nothing to do with common sense. As an example, you are driving to work and the inner voice within, the Holy Spirit that leads, guides, and directs you tells you to take a different route. You know in your mind that the route you normally take is a lot shorter than the one you’re being directed to take. Hesitant, but obedient, you go that route that you’re led to go and later learn there was a terrible accident or road construction was taking place. Perhaps, you drive by a house that God is prompting you letting you know it’s yours. Maybe even taking the route the Spirit leads you to take causes you to run into your future spouse. What’s my point? God knows what’s best for us and if we listen and obey, we will come to the full understanding of His word in Jeremiah 29:11.
  10. We must ask or pray–God lead me, guide me, direct me, order my steps.
  11. We must obey.

God is constantly trying to tell us something. Today if you hear His voice, don’t harden your heart.

Did I miss it and get a lot of things wrong? Yes I did. Do I still sometimes get things wrong? Yes, I do. The one thing that I know that I know is God wants what’s best for us and if we study, listen and obey, He will fulfill His promises in my life as well as yours. He is faithful.

I’ll close with this. Find your space and meet with God each and every day to get your marching orders from Him. I have several. I read and study in my bedroom. I spend time conversing with Him in the shower. I spend time watching and listening to His anointed preachers and teachers daily and my God, when driving to and from work, we have a glorious time! Find your place(s) where you can hear what He is saying.

And people, please get away from that “something said” or “something led” and acknowledge God as that something. He really does want to tell you somethings.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays from my house to yours!

 

