Storms

When growing up in Louisiana, it seemed there would always be thunderstorms… thunder and lightning. Oh my! They scared the dickens out of me! But, I learned something later in life that I’d like to share with you today: I could get my best rest in the storms. Yes, I would often sleep through the thunder and lightning like a newborn babe! And when I awoke the storm had passed.

And so it is, fast forward to now: I learned that during the storms of life how to rest. Yes, when life comes crashing down on me and I don’t know what to do or which way to go, I rest. When problems arise that causes me to shake my head, I rest. When chaos is all around, confusion in my head and life, I rest.

When the tumultuous attacks that seem to be never-ending come against me, I rest. You might say but how? I will share with you my secret so that you too can get your best rest during the storms in your life.

I rest in knowing–

  1. Storms don’t last always
  2. God is with me in my storm
  3. He alone can do what I cannot do about the storm
  4. He calms the storm and gives me peace in the midst of it
  5. This too shall pass
  6. No weapon formed against me shall prosper
  7. The Greater one lives in me, loves me, and only wants what’s best for me.

Now that you know my secret, you too can rest in the midst of your storm. You can ride out the storm knowing that God is in you, with you, and working through your storm to help you be and become all He desires you to be. You can trust that your storm only took you by surprise and definitely not God.

Worrying is pointless. Trying to figure out what you’re going to do is sometimes a big waste of your time, efforts, and energy often leading to your making poor decisions. Telling others of your storms does nothing for either party. Most likely they are going through a storm themselves.

In the 8th chapter of the book of Matthew (also recorded in other books of the gospel), there was a great storm that came. The people were so afraid they were going to drown. They cried out to Jesus, who was by the way napping, asking him to save them. Jesus stood up and rebuked the storm and there was a great calm. He did it just by saying “Peace, be still”. He can do the same in our lives as well.

I will add that he also rebuked the people asking them where was their faith. Have faith!

So, if you want to really get some rest while riding through your storm, think on and do the above. Talk to the one who can help you in your storm. Seek guidance from Him and Him alone. Do whatever He leads you to do. Pray.  And trust the process.

Now go and get some rest!

To order Regina’s books, go to http://www.regsbooks.org or Amazon.

To invite Regina to speak at an upcoming event or to request a media kit,  send an email to publicity@regsbooks.org.

http://www.reginamixonenterprises.org

