Sometimes our focus is on all of the many negative things taking place in our lives, our communities, our country and yes, we should think on these things. We cannot and should not bury our heads in the sand as if none of this is taking place. These, however, should not be our primary focus day in and day out. Scripture tells us we should give thanks in everything and offer up the sacrifice of praise. We’ve all heard the saying–“When the praises go up, blessings come down”. Well it’s true, but that does not mean that we won’t have various trials and evil running rampant in this world. Satan is real BUT God has all power.

Perhaps when we change from mumbling, grumbling and complaining about all of the wrongs, and start giving thanks for the good, and praising God in spite of–perhaps then we’ll start to see more positive changes taking place.

Today, I want to focus on some of the things I have to be thankful for. You may be able to relate to many of them. If you are still breathing you will be able to relate to many of them.

Today Father I thank you for–

  • Life, health, and strength
  • Having great family members and friends
  • A roof over my head, food to eat and clothes to wear
  • The activities of my limbs
  • Making a way when there appeared to be no way
  • Loving & caring for me when it seems no one else did
  • Being my BFF
  • Being the best Father one could ever ask for
  • Putting the right people in my path to accomplish Your purpose for my life and removing all of the wrong ones
  • Leading, guiding, and directing me
  • Great business relationships and partnerships
  • Disappointment with business relationships
  • The abusive relationships endured
  • A great job working with great people that affords me the opportunity to help many
  • Being Jehovah-jireh, my provider
  • Watching over my family members & loved ones & supplying their needs as only You can
  • Blessing me to be a blessing to many
  • Allowing me to go through the  hurts and pains in preparation to minister to the masses
  • Turning my messes into my messages
  • Humbling me to elevate You
  • Every evil word or deed–they only helped to make me stronger
  • Everyone who walked away
  • Everyone who stayed and helped in any way at all
  • Restoring my mind
  • Restoring relationships
  • Restoring finances
  • Losses too numerable to list
  • Failed marriages
  • Planting seeds for businesses and ministries to help myself, others and glorify You
  • Placing various teachers, coaches, mentors, cheerleaders, volunteers, team players and yes, even the naysayers in my life

For this and so much more, I say THANK YOU and for this I give YOU PRAISE!

Now, don’t just look at my list, create your own. Focus on God and His goodness. Take the focus off of all of your problems but your Problem Fixer and watch Him do amazing things in your life.

As the songwriter wrote…For every mountain You brought me over. For every trial You’ve seen me through. For every blessing…Hallelujah…for this I give You praise!

My challenge to you is to take each letter of the alphabet, starting with A working your way to Z, and create a Thank You list to God. Write it, read it daily, add to it as often as you want and watch what God does for you, in you and through you. You’ll see blessings in many things you initially perceived to be negative. God alone can turn negatives into positives. Trust, believe and thank Him in advance.

 

untitled (84)

