Peeling Back The Layers

Peeling Back The Layers

When preparing some of my favorite dishes I find that I often use onions quite a bit in my entrees. For those of you that know me, you know cooking is not something I do often. However, on those rare occasions that I do, I love the taste and flavor that onions add to certain dishes. The aroma when cooking, the taste…ah, appetizing!

As I peel back the layers of the onions I find tears start to flow from my eyes. (I know this doesn’t happen to everyone as some have mastered peeling onions but it does for me) Knowing the finished dish is well worth the tears, I continue to peel, and tears continue to flow until I’m finished with the onion. And I take those peeled, chopped, and/or diced pieces and add them to my dish. Voila! I have a masterpiece when done.

In life, as God is peeling back layers, don’t you find that there are many times we find ourselves crying, sobbing, weeping? Each layer, although we know in the end will be beneficial to our maturation, peels off some unwanted issues and some we’ve dealt with for years, and causes tears to flow.

Imagine that God is ridding you of toxic relationships, helping you to become a better steward over the resources He’s given you, teaching you how to really love yourself (something you never knew how to do), eliminating your people-pleasing lifestyle, ridding you of long-held addictions…He peels away one layer at a time and often it takes years of peeling to get us where He wants us.

Now, think on the fact that just maybe you’ve lived with these for many years and actually thought you were on the right track. Oh the pain of eliminating the old and embracing the new. “Can’t You peel away all the layers at one time Lord? This hurts so much!”  Keep in mind it’s oftentimes taken years for you to develop these issues.  Just like it’s taken years to learn the old, it often takes years to unlearn and re-learn the new. (I know, I know, we see the light and we want all these layers to drop off now. Not gonna happen.) It’s a process.

It’s amazing to me how we go about life thinking that our way of doing things is the right way only to realize later that we were wrong on so many levels. After all, we are a product of our environment and unfortunately some of the things we learned were not the right things. No disrespect to parents and others as I know that all did the best they could and taught as best as they could.

It did not surprise nor does it surprise God but it sure does surprise the heck out of some of us.

Well, I have a word for you; though it hurts (and Oh my God it will), go through the process knowing that in the end it is all working together for your good. And once you’ve learned or gone through the peeling process, go back and teach someone else. Hopefully they’ll listen and learn. “When you learn, teach, when you get, give.” Dr. Maya Angelou

Luke 22:31-33 KJV

31 And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat:

32 But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou art converted, strengthen thy brethren.

33 And he said unto him, Lord, I am ready to go with thee, both into prison, and to death.

