Remember the song by the same title.  I used to love it.

So, you’re feeling pretty lonely during the holidays.  Your family may be scattered in various states and you just don’t have a clue what to do.  May I make a few suggestions?

  1. Get you off of your mind. Yep, I said it.  Go and feed the hungry. Volunteer to give out clothing or something to those in need.
  2. Get you off your mind.  Pay a visit to a nursing home or visit someone in jail.
  3. Get you off your mind.  Write letters. Send cards. Mentor someone.
  4. And if you must keep you on your mind do me a favor, count your blessings…name them one by one.  We all have so much to be thankful for.

So, if you find you’re feeling extremely lonely during the holidays and find yourself asking, “What do the lonely do at Christmas?”, I suggest the very first thing is get you off your mind!  I guarantee you once you do that you will find you’re not so lonely at all.

Happy Holidays!

